Today is Sunday, Sep. 20, 2020

Pathobiology & Molecular Medicine

Student in Lab with lab slides


The Graduate Program in Pathobiology & Molecular Medicine offers a course of study in biomedical research leading to the Ph.D. degree. The program is administered by two clinical departments: Pathology and Internal Medicine. Pathology is a branch of medical science that concerns itself with the study of the nature of human disease and its causes, whereas Internal Medicine is concerned with therapeutic strategies to prevent or cure human diseases. Doctoral students in the Pathobiology & Molecular Medicine Graduate Program are exposed to each of these disciplines in a program of study that unites contemporary investigative research in biomedical sciences with an understanding of human disease and the challenges that face effective treatment.

Who should apply?

Senior undergraduate students in the biological sciences who have an interest in applied medical science. However, the Program has also accepted medical doctors, medical laboratory technicians and veterinarians wishing to pursue a research degree.

Duration of study

Most students take 5 years to complete the program. During this time, the students receive a stipend of $26-28,000/year, health insurance, and complete tuition remission.



Congratulations to:

Sharon Parkins on being awarded a Yates Fellowship and also selected to receive a Graduate Dean's Excellence Scholarship for the fall 2020 semester.

Clementine Adeyemi on being selected to receive a Graduate Dean's Excellence Scholarship for the fall 2020 semester.

Hannah Newton on being awarded a 2020 Graduate Student Stipend and Research Cost Program for Faculty (URC) —Student Collaboration Award.

Brynne Whitacre in Dr. Sean Davidson’s lab on being selected for a 2020 Sisters-in-Arms Moore Award of Excellence

Congratulations to Steve Sayson in Melanie Cushion's Lab for being awarded a 2020 GSGR Fellowship

Congratulations to faculty member Dr. David Askew for being awarded the Mrs. A.B. "Dolly" Cohen award for excellence in teaching