Today is Tuesday, Sep. 22, 2020

Department of Environmental and Public Health Sciences

Center for Environmental Genetics

Coronavirus COVID-19 Updates: uc.edu/publichealth

Panel of Expert Consultants

Personnel
 Photo of Jack Rubinstein MD

Jack Rubinstein, MD   IHSFC Core Leader; Professor, Internal Medicine, Division of Cardiology   jack.rubinstein@uc.edu

Developmental origins of adult heart disease, endocrine disruptors and heart health
 Photo of Kelly Brunst, PhD Kelly Brunst, PhD      IHSFC Core co-leader   Assistant Professor, Division of Epidemiology     kelly.brunst@uc.edu Psychosocial stress, traffic pollution, mental health, epigenetics, mitochondrial function

 

Susan Pinney, PhD
CEG Director
Professor
Department of Environmental and Public Health Sciences
Susan.Pinney@uc.edu

Strategic planning/ management of IHSFC program activities
Coordination of IHSFC Core user consultations
Workshops; Forth and Back clinical conferences
Expert Consultant

ChangChun Xie 100x126WebPortrait

Changchun Xie, PhD
Statistician
Associate Professor
Department of Environmental and Public Health Sciences
Changchun.Xie@uc.edu

Sample size estimation
Power calculations
Statistical Analyses
Multiple comparison statistical adjustments
Gene association analyses

BuckholzJ_2012

Jeanette Buckholz, RN, MSN
Research Associate
Department of Environmental and Public Health Sciences
Jeanette.Buckholz@uc.edu

Biospecimen processing and storage
Tissue repository; medical record retrieval
Outreach to members of an exposed community

victoriaStraughnPortraitWebLowResm2015

Victoria Straughn, CMA
Clinical research assistant
Department of Environmental and Public Health Sciences
Victoria.Straughn@uc.edu

Biospecimen (blood. urine and fixed tissue) procurement
Consultation and database evaluations
Outreach activities in collaboration with CEC

Additional Expert Consultants
Ranjan Deka

Ranjan Deka, PhD
Professor
Department of Environmental and Public Health Sciences
Ranjan.Deka@uc.edu

Expert Consultant
Population genetics
Study design - cohort and case-control studies
Genotyping

 Sakthivel Sadayappan, PhD, MBA Sakthivel Sadayappan, PhD, MBA; Professor of Internal Medicine; Associate Chief, Division of Cardiovascular Health & Disease; Associate Chair, Basic Research, Internal Medicine; Director of Heart Branch of the Heart, Lung, and Vascular Institute; sakthivel.sadayappan@uc.edu Expert consultant. Regulators of sacromere structure and function in cardiac and skeletal muscle; genetics of cardiovascular disease
 Portrait photo of Ying Xia, PhD YIng Xia, PhD; Professor of Environmental Health, Division of Environmental Genetics and Molecular Toxicology; Director of CEG Integrative Technologies Support (ITS) Core; ying.xia@uc.edu Expert consultant. Gene-Environment (GxE) interactions, development toxicity; epithelial biology, signal transduction
 Portrait photo of Jeffrey R. Strawn, PhD Jeffrey R. Strawn, MD, FAACAP; Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Pediatrics; Associate Vice Chair of Research; Director, Anxiety Disorders Research Program; Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neuroscience; jeffrey.strawn@uc.edu Expert consultant. Child and adolescent psychiatry; influence of environmental exposures on brain development and neurobehavior

 ThomasMichael PortraitWebLowResm2015

Michael Thomas, MD
Professor and Chair,
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Michael.Thomas@uc.edu

Expert Consultant, Reproductive Endocrinology, Infertility, Effects of stress on reproductive function, Effects of exposure on reproductive function, Strategic planning, Translation coach

Scott Langevin 

Scott Langevin, PhD, MHA, CT(ASCP)
Associate Professor
Department of Environmental and Public Health Sciences; Co-Director, Clinical & Translational Research Graduate Education Program
Scott.Langevin@uc.edu

Expert consultant. Molecular epidemiology
DNA methylation studies

 Patrick Ryan

Patrick Ryan, PhD
Professor,
Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center and Department of Environmental and Public Health Sciences, Pediatrics
Patrick.Ryan@cchmc.org

Expert Consultant
Study design - cohort and case-control studies
Air pollution / environmental monitoring
Imaging (MRIs)
Atopy and Asthma